Can atheists express gratitude about nature?

russell & pascal

Pascal,

I’m humbled by your change of mind about how the atheist sees the world. Thank you for talking this through with us.

In your comment to EMil you said:

If all things very big, very small, or intricately related (some of the things that awe me) require no cause or no direction beyond the physical realm then there is no one to thank, and I am a fool to even dream of meeting and talking with the author. That saddens me.

You are not a fool to dream of meeting or talking with the author. I think that desire is within almost all of us. I dream of it. I think we all (almost all) hope for an eternal being who will love us forever and provide the answers for our deepest questions.

There is a desire you speak of in your post and comments. It is to believe…

View original post 2,185 more words

Leave a Reply

