Gender Equality… a humanist view

Christianity, and many other religions express a great disdain for women, that they are less than men, or are to blame for the arbitrary idea of ‘sins’ existence. I don’t want my daughters ever to think of themselves by the christian definition. I don’t want any woman to be defined by it!

I am opposed to the message and the sentiment that the bible promotes for women!

I am opposed to the message and the sentiment that the bible promotes for men!

Watching Emma Watson’s speech moved me deeply, almost bringing me to tears. As a male human being, society has demanded I be a hard, cold and an ultra-rational creature, born to be a utility for the economy, or to be a slave in submission to a god.

I publicly reject this idea being imposed on me!

I feel. I hurt. And have a right to express my emotions. I desire touch – from my lover and my friends and my family. I don’t need to earn love, or beg for it. I am not filthy or made of puppy dog tails and snails…

And neither is any other male human being…

This is not about being a man, it’s about being human. We must create a new ideal of what is means to be a human being in our modern age, and understand that “sameness” is not equality.

Join me and help create that new ideal, where men and women are truly equal. Not just in the economy, where we all would become utilities, but expressive, whole and free.
http://www.heforshe.org/

Leave a Reply

